What Are Chakras

Updated: Nov 11, 2020

Chakras are areas of energy in the body that run through your center from the base of your spine to the top of your head. The word “chakra” (prounounced “CHOCK-rah”) is Sanskrit, meaning “wheel”, which refers to the spinning energy in each one. Each chakra has its own symbolism and each affects different aspects of your being: physical, mental, and spiritual.

The energy of a chakra can be low, high, or anywhere it between – it exists on a spectrum – but a chakra is never fully “closed.” The chakras work best when balanced. Keeping that in mind, you can work to activate your chakras one at a time, starting with where you feel needs attention. If you’re unsure where to start, try taking a chakra balancing quiz online or just starting at the foundation (Root chakra) and work your way up.



The red root chakra is located at the base of your spine and is all about your roots, your history, survival, and the material world. When this chakra is activated, you feel connected to the earth, safe, grounded, and in control. All other chakras depend on this one so be sure to start with your root chakra to activate your chakras: all good things come from a solid foundation.

Activate the Root Chakra:

  1. Get in tune with your physical body through exercise, yoga, dancing, or walking.

  2. Connect with nature by taking a barefoot walk through the grass, taking a nap in the shade, or spend time relaxing at the foot of a tree.

  3. Use aromatherapy to boost your root chakra [1]. The part of our brains responsible for processing smells is located right next to the primary place for memories. Recreate some of your favorite smells from childhood (chocolate chip cookies, anyone?!) to activate those warm, fuzzy feelings of love and belonging.

  4. Smell earthy cedarwood or sandalwood.

#reiki #chakras #rootchakra

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All